Fun Things to Do in Minnesota (Fall & Winter Edition)

For my second post of the week I am going to talk about the second part of my “Fun Things to Do in Minnesota” list which includes fun things to do in Minnesota around the fall and winter time. Granted this part of the list is going to be a little more general since I just love to do the cliché fall and winter things in Minnesota but I still want to share it all with you guys. Enjoy!

Just like the first part of the list I will start with things you can do in the fall then move on to things that can be done in the winter (and spring if there is still snow or it is cold, oh Minnesota).

  1. Visit the National Eagle Center (in Wabasha)
    • Okay so I know this is really random and can be done pretty much all year round, but it is really pretty to do it in the fall when all the trees have popped with color. If you like eagles, owls and hawks this is the place to go. I mainly have this on my list because my mom is a huge wild bird fan so its always fun to go with her since she gets all giddy like a little kid in a candy shop. It is also a great place to learn about wild birds in general and get to see the birds up close.
    • NatlEagleCenterLarge1NationalEagleCenter-Eagle
  2. Do some apple picking
    • This is just one of those things that Minnesotans need to do. As soon as I see the apple orchards start to open up I know that fall is right around the corner. Apple picking or visiting an apple orchard can be fun for all ages. I’ve gone apple picking when I was a kid with my family/on field trips and when I got older with my boyfriend (we try to go at least once a year). I especially love going to “Apple Jack’s Orchard” in Delano, MN and “Dumas Apple House” in Long Lake, MN. Being able to try different types of apples and get fresh honey is really great!
    • 2004_orchard_015Screen-Shot-2013-09-20-at-1.03.58-PM
  3. Go to a Fall Festival
    • When I say fall festivals I’m talking about a place that has a pumpkin patch, hayrides, corn mazes and other fall related things. My favorite “fall festival” destination to go is “Sever’s Corn Maze” in Shakopee, MN. It has everything from corn mazes, pumpkin patches and hayrides (plus more). These events and activities are perfect to celebrate the harvest and fall time.
    • 589_298_f3961916245_60c87008c3
  4. Go on a nature walk
    • This is one of my favorite things to do in the fall. I live on a farm with a lot of woods surrounding the property so I can just wander around and listen to all the activity in the woods and out on the fields. If you don’t live next to woods just go to a nature trail or park and enjoy it there. It can be very beautiful and peaceful at the same time, I know it helps me relax and unwind when I’m stressed.
    • 6239469800_bfeb563204_bAUTUMN 9706 - for web
  5. Visit a “haunted” house, go on a “haunted” hayride or do the Zombie Pub Crawl (in Minneapolis)
    • For the people who love Halloween and want a thrill or like suspension visit a haunted house of hayride. I personally don’t like doing this because I don’t like surprises or being scared but I’ve gone with some friends since they like it. I do have to admit it is a fun thing to do with friends. There are plenty haunted houses and hayrides all around Minnesota. If you want a even bigger layout with a lot of attractions just go to Valleyscare at Valleyfair. If you are 21 you can also partake in the Zombie Pub Crawl in Minneapolis where you can dress up as a zombie and hop between bars.
    • 7def9c59-bb49-bc9b-c52b280fa47349ceZombie-Pub-Crawl
  6. Visit the Saint Paul Winter Carnival 
    • This is a fun thing to do for the whole family. There are all sorts of events that can peak all sorts of interests. Some of the events include: touring the ice palace, seeing parades, watching a snow blowing competition, watching crashed ice (very intense) and much more. There are both things to do inside and out so you don’t have to worry about getting cold.
    • st-paul-winter-carnivalFR Hor Wh-XLMU_LIFE_FH_4109
  7. Go on a hay or sleigh ride
    • There are many places that offer hay or sleigh rides all around Minnesota. The best part is that they can be pulled by either (Draft) horses or reindeer! One of the most famous places to have a reindeer pulled sleigh is at Johmar Farms. They also can provide horses, ponies and donkeys if need be.
    • EMT-johmar-farmshorses3L
  8. Go iceskating
    • This can be done pretty much anywhere that there is water in Minnesota (which is in a lot of places). However, you can also skate on some handmade rinks like The Depot, which is a famous indoor ice rink in Minneapolis.
    • 55depotScreen-Shot-2013-12-31-at-6.24.55-PM
  9. Make use of the trails
    • Nature trails have just as much use in the winter as they do any other time of the year. They can be used to: snowmobile, cross-country ski, snowshoe, etc. It is a great way to get outdoors during the winter and get some fresh air/exercise.
    • Yosemite_Winter_Hikingthompson6301
  10. Check out the many resorts/slops/hills around Minnesota
    • There is plenty to do at the resorts, slops and hills around Minnesota. You can ski, tube, snowboard, etc. Some places might be a little more expensive than others but it can be worth it in the end. If all else fails just find a nice big hill at a local park or your backyard and you should be fine.
    • 6405Uniquely Minnesota

In the end, these are some of my favorite things to do in the fall and winter around Minnesota. I know some of them are a little more vague than others but I just love to do those activities in general. If you guys have anything else to add to this list or some interesting stories involving the great aspects of living in Minnesota let me know! I would love to hear all about it.

If you guys want any more ideas of what to do in Minnesota during the fall and winter time check out the links below!

Links:

http://minneapolis.about.com/od/eventsfestivals/a/Things-To-Do-In-The-Fall-In-Minneapolis-And-St-Paul.htm (Fun things to do in Minnesota in the fall)

http://www.minnesotamonthly.com/November-2014/18-Fun-Minnesota-Winter-Activities-and-Holiday-Festivals-For-Kids-and-Adults/ (Fun things to do in Minnesota in the winter)

One comment

  1. cajoos29 · April 20, 2015

    Sometimes we forget how much Minnesota has to offer. This past summer, my dad, brother and I decided to take the motorcycles out to the National Eagle Center. It was a long ride, but it was really fun and the Center was super interesting. I’ve also been on many a Sleigh Ride, and having owned horses for a big part of my life, have been on most of the trails in Minnesota, as well as South Dakota and Wisconsin. The upper Midwest has a lot of fun stuff to do, if you don’t mind going outside and freezing half to death!! Good post! Great ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

