Cult Classics Part 1

For my blog this week I am going to totally switch gears and talk a little bit about some of my favorite “cult classics” of all time. I’m doing this because there has been quite a lot of news with some of my favorite cult classic movies lately. I will be splitting the list into two parts since it is going to be a little lengthy. However, I did manage to cut it down to my top 20 all time favorites with a couple honorary mentions here and there.

cult_classics_logo2

I want to point out that some of the movies I am about to list are now considered just “classic” movies or overall great movies but when they first came out they didn’t have a big fan base which is why they are on this list.

Before I provide my list I want to start off by quickly giving a definition of what a cult classic or cult film is. According to Wikipedia: “A cult film, also commonly referred to as a cult classic, is a film that has acquired a cult following. Cult films are known for their dedicated, passionate fan-base an elaborate subculture that engage in repeated viewings, quoting dialogue, and audience participation. Inclusive definitions allow for major studio productions, especially box office bombs, while exclusive definitions focus more on obscure, transgressive films shunned by the mainstream.”

8287688111_fe670c0798

Now that you have a general idea of what a cult classic is I will list the first 10 of my top favorite cult classic movies of all time. Enjoy!

  1. Forever Strong (2008)
    • This movie is a rugby movie about “a troubled rugby player (Sean Faris) who leads his team against his father’s (Neal McDonough) in the national championship.” Let me tell you, it is a great motivational movie to watch before you play rugby. My high school team and I use to watch it every time before we played in our state games. It definitely has its cheesy moments and can mess up some of the facts/rules of rugby but overall it is a great movie. (Its on Netflix if anyone wants to watch it!)
    • Forever-Strong-Christian-MovieFilm-DVDBlu-rayForever_strong
    • Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u3C2HvQ8KFE
  2. The Boondock Saints (I and II) [1999 and 2009]
    • These movies are one of the reasons why I wanted to write a post about cult classics today. I recently heard that they are in the process of making a third Boondock Saints movie (FINALLY). These movies are definitely not for the light hearted or people who don’t like swearing. They are very funny yet dark and confusing at the same time. With these movies you would be better off to watch the second one first, then the first one and then re-watch the second. This order might be a little confusing at first but it makes the movies even better watching it like this. Here is the definitions of the movies:
    • The Boondock Saints: “Tired of the crime overrunning the streets of Boston, Irish Catholic twin brothers Conner (Sean Patrick Flanery) and Murphy (Norman Reedus) are inspired by their faith to cleanse their hometown of evil with their own brand of zealous vigilante justice. As they hunt down and kill one notorious gangster after another, they become controversial folk heroes in the community. But Paul Smecker (Willem Dafoe), an eccentric FBI agent, is fast closing in on their blood-soaked trail.” 
    • The Boondock Saints-All Saints Day: “Connor (Sean Patrick Flanery) and Murphy MacManus (Norman Reedus) have been living in Ireland for several years, working on a farm with their father (Billy Connolly). When they learn they’ve been charged with the murder of a Roman Catholic priest, the brothers travel to Boston to clear their names. Along the way, they meet Romeo (Clifton Collins Jr.), a street fighter who joins them in their quest to find Concezio Yakavetta (Judd Nelson), a mobster who they think is really behind the murder.”
    • MV5BMTIzODA2NTUyM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwODQ2Mjk4._V1_51ObLdrU1AL
    • Trailer (Movie 1): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ydXojYfCF3I
    • Trailer (Movie 2): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h93ezXUz_iU
  3. The Warriors (1979)
    • This movie is probably one of the most underrated movies on this list besides the two I have already listed. My dad was watching this on TV one day while I was in the living room. At first I was like “Whatever this is just another one of those weird movies that my dad always has the talent of finding” but by the end I was at the edge of my seat and bought the DVD of the movie in the same day. It is a little bit older so it can get a little cheesy at points but for its time it is a really thrilling movie. Here is the definition of the movie: “A turf battle between New York City street gangs that rages from Coney Island to the Bronx. The Warriors are mistakenly fingered for the killing of a gang leader. Soon they have every gang in the city out to get revenge and they must make their way across the city to their own turf.”
    • 51RWgbnY8PLWarriors_1
    • Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhIRuAsiFQQ
  4. Office Space (1999)
    • This movie is about “Corporate drone Peter Gibbons (Ron Livingston) [and how he] hates his soul-killing job at software company Initech. While undergoing hypnotherapy, Peter is left in a blissful state when his therapist dies in the middle of their session. He refuses to work overtime, plays games at his desk and unintentionally charms two consultants into putting him on the management fast-track. When Peter’s friends learn they’re about to be downsized, they hatch a revenge plot against the company inspired by ‘Superman III.” Most people have probably heard of this movie or at least seen some of the scenes that make it well known but it still tends to go under the radar. It is one of those movies where when you first watch it its not that funny but the more you think about it the funnier it gets.
    • MV5BOTA5MzQ3MzI1NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTcxNTYxMTE@._V1_SX640_SY720_office-space
    • Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_IwzZYRejZQ
  5. Super Troopers (2001)
    • This is a movie that my friends and I happened to stumble upon one day and quickly became one of the many we quote all the time. This movie is super funny and VERY inappropriate (I repeat VERY INAPPROPRIATE) all at the same time. This is another one of my cult classics that I recently found out was getting another movie (I’m actually pretty excited about this). Lets just say that if you like the TV show “Reno 911” you will live this movie. Here is the definition: “Always looking for action, five over-enthusiastic but under-stimulated Vermont State Troopers raise hell on the highway, keeping motorists anxiously looking in their rear-view mirrors. Between an ongoing feud with the local cops over whose you-know-what is bigger, and the state government wanting to shut them down, the “Super Troopers” find themselves precariously and hilariously heading toward calamity as they try to avoid extinction.”
    • MV5BMTY1MTExMTE2M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwMDI2OTE5._V1_SX640_SY720_Super_Troopers_2_67075
    • Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2-9D2qUHN-E
  6. The Craft (1996)
    •  My friend introduced me to this movie. At first I didn’t think I was going to like it at all but I ended up loving it. It can get a little dark at places but has an overall good storyline and message. her is the definition of the movie: “After transferring to a Los Angeles high school, Sarah (Robin Tunney) finds that her telekinetic gift appeals to a group of three wannabe witches, who happen to be seeking a fourth member for their rituals. Bonnie (Neve Campbell), Rochelle (Rachel True) and Nancy (Fairuza Balk), like Sarah herself, all have troubled backgrounds, which combined with their nascent powers lead to dangerous consequences. When a minor spell causes a fellow student to lose her hair, the girls grow power-mad.”
    • MV5BMTIwNTQyNTY1OF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNTYwNjg4._V1_SX640_SY720_N CAMPBELL,F BALK,TRUE,TUNNEY THE CRAFT COLUMBIA 01/05/1996 CTJ27346
    • Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oa-fbQ7SbyM
  7. The Princess Bride (1987)
    • This movie is “a fairy tale adventure about a beautiful young woman and her one true love. He must find her after a long separation and save her. They must battle the evils of the mythical kingdom of Florin to be reunited with each other. Based on the William Goldman novel ‘The Princess Bride’ which earned its own loyal audience.” The Princess Bride is my mom’s all time favorite fairytale movie besides the story of Cinderella. I remember getting the anniversary DVD for her birthday and watching it with her. Because of this It is now one of my top 10 favorite fairytale movies. It is one of the examples of a pure “classic” movie.
    •  51+OCP1DUSL51CV41N4TEL
    • Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VYgcrny2hRs
  8. Where the Wild Things Are (2009)
    • The movie is based off the children’s book “Where the Wild Things Are.” It is pretty self-explanatory, just an adaption of the book with a little more detail, great animation and a great soundtrack.
    • MV5BNzQ1NzAwODEwM15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNTE4MjI4Mg@@._V1_SX640_SY720_where_the_wild_things_are_ver2
    • Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=01-PqqifyjA
  9. Spirited Away (2001)
    • This is one of my top favorite animated movies of all time and my ultimate favorite piece of work by Hayao Miyazaki. This movie is about “10-year-old Chihiro (Rumi Hiiragi) and her parents (Takashi Naitô, Yasuko Sawaguchi) [who] stumble upon a seemingly abandoned amusement park. After her mother and father are turned into giant pigs, Chihiro meets the mysterious Haku (Miyu Irino), who explains that the park is a resort for supernatural beings who need a break from their time spent in the earthly realm, and that she must work there to free herself and her parents.” Im not going to lie this movie is different from most “american” animated movies but it has a great story to it and is truly beautiful work. 
    • MV5BMjYxMDcyMzIzNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNDg2MDU3._V1_SX640_SY720_spirited-away-2
    • Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByXuk9QqQkk
  10. V for Vendetta (2006)
    • I was really not expecting to like this movie so much since we had to watch it for a class in high school. However, I found myself being sucked into the storyline and I even ended up finishing the movie outside of class since I was so fascinated by it. If any of you haven’t heard of the movie here is the definition: “Following world war, London is a police state occupied by a fascist government, and a vigilante known only as V (Hugo Weaving) uses terrorist tactics to fight the oppressors of the world in which he now lives. When V saves a young woman named Evey (Natalie Portman) from the secret police, he discovers an ally in his fight against England’s oppressors.” It is a darker movie but is very action packed and keeps you on the edge of your seat. The amazing selection of actors and actresses make this movie even better by providing great acting. 
    • 51QsjKDEBfLMV5BOTI5ODc3NzExNV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNzYxNzQzMw@@._V1_SX640_SY720_
    • Trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qxyUl9M_7vc

So there you have it, the first half of my top 20 all time favorite cult classics. Like I said above I know some of these are not really cult classics anymore but they were at one point, which makes them even more awesome then they already are.

Side-note: Sorry if some of the trailers are low quality some of the movies are pretty old and its hard to find a good quality trailer for some.

Blues-Brothers-cult-films-424838_466_330img

Anyways, If you want more information on these movies or any cult classics at all check out the links below. I also have some links to articles about the top cult classic movies out there and ones that people should try and for sure watch in their lifetime. In the end, I know I should put up the second part of my list before I say the question that I am about to ask but I’m way to curious. I would love to know what some of your favorite cult classics or just classics are. Are any of them on this list so far? Please let me know so I can try and watch any that I haven’t seen yet! I love getting movie suggestions of any kind. My life is a little crazy at the moment so I wont get to watch them right away but I WILL get to them eventually, so let me know!

Stay tuned for the second part of my list!

Links:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cult_film (Wiki page on Cult Films or Cult Classics)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cult_films#S (Wiki page list of Cult Classics)

http://www.gamesradar.com/34-best-cult-movies-all-time/ (Article on 34 of the best cult classics of all time)

http://www.filmsite.org/cultfilmsew.html (Article on top 50 cult classics of all time)

http://io9.com/30-cult-movies-that-absolutely-everybody-must-see-1538502596 (Article on 30 cult classics that everyone needs to see)

Leave a Reply

