African American (Black) History Month

In honor of African American (Black) History Month I will be showing a powerful spoken word video about African American women that one of my friends posted on her Facebook page earlier this week (I had to find the actual video on a different site). It is a very empowering and moving poem that radiates emotion. Even thought I am not a part of the directed audience of this poem it still moves me. No matter how many times I watch it I get goosebumps.

I find spoken word to be one of the best ways to express your feelings on a subject you feel passionate about or have a lot of feelings towards. I am also jealous of people who can write and preform spoken word poems because I have no poetic talent AT ALL. You can find all sorts of spoken word poems about pretty much anything online. I would highly recommend you guys check it out. I guarantee you will never look at poetry the same way.

Here is the video (I suggest starting it at 00:46)

http://www.worldstarhiphop.com/videos/video.php?v=wshh6jREN9qg3i0j9Y05

Let me know what you guys think! I hope you are as amazed as I am.

What would you make a spoken word poem about? Have any of you guys tried spoken word?? if so please share it with me or your experience doing so, I would love to hear about it!

Also if you guys don’t really know what spoken word poetry is here is the Urban Dictionary definition. Urban Dictionary describes spoken word as “poetry intended for onstage performance, rather than exclusively designed for the page. While often associated with hip-hop culture, it also has strong ties to storytelling, modern poetry, post-modern performance, and monologue theatre, as well as jazz, blues, and folk music.Due to its immediacy and direct rapport with its audience, this type of poetry often contains references to current events and issues relevant to a contemporary audience. At its best, spoken word is a powerful, high-energy form of expression that attracts artists and audiences of all ages from a wide range of disciplines and socio-cultural backgrounds.”

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

